Luck O’ the Irish..Mommy

Disclaimer – This post is going to be nothing but full-fledged mom gushing and bragging. If you’re not into that, turn back now or go check out another one of my posts (like this one on the DIY : Cable Rail Artwork Gallery I made.) If reading about adorable kiddos is your jam, then keep reading.

I have been so incredibly proud of my son this week that I just can’t keep it to myself. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think he’s perfect or anything, last week I was ready to sell him off to the gypsies because he was bugging the ever-loving $%!# out of me. I thought that being a “three-nager” was bad, spoiler alert, it seems each age comes with its own special set of challenges for the parental units. Gotta keep us on our toes right? Difficult moments aside, I want to talk about some moments he has had recently that make this whole parenting gig the best job I could hope to have.

Our little man has been in Montessori School for two years now. (If you’re not familiar with Montessori, it’s basically a style of learning that is basically child-led where they get to choose what lessons they want to work on. It works really well for some kids and not at all for others. My husband thrived in it when he was a little whipper-snapper and our son is doing the same.) Last year in school, M mainly was interested in the toys and did basic things like coloring, painting, stacking blocks, etc. This year, he is actually really interested in all of the educational Montessori work and is learning phonics, counting, etc. This in itself is a big step that I am proud of because he is absolutely bananas for playing with toys. The fact that he is choosing lessons over toys makes me so happy and gives me hope that he will be ready for Kindergarten when the time comes, even though I probably won’t be, but that’s a story for another time.

Earlier this week when I picked M up from school, his teacher told me what they had been working on that day, she also let me know that our normally happy/class clown had been a little emotional and sad that day. Apparently he was missing his mom like crazy and so they let him take the time to write me a card to help him feel better.

1

Along with tracing his name and a greeting, he drew “Daddy” on the front, then on the inside he drew “mommy”. When he drew me, he told his teacher “This is my mommy. I love my mommy. She is the best mommy in the world. I love her so much!” and as he said this he started to tear up a little. His teacher said that he was so full of pride, love and emotion that it made her a little teary eyed too. Of course, when she relayed all of this to me, I broke down and cried right there in the school holding my son’s tiny little backpack and gripping the card he made me as if it was 1 million dollars, which, let’s be honest, to me it’s worth even more than that!

The next thing that pushed this week over the top for me happened at the dentist office of all places. Yesterday, while in the waiting room at the dentist, my precocious, inquisitive, intelligent 4-year-old son wrote his own name by himself for the very first time. I screamed right there in the waiting room “M!!! You wrote your name!! You did it! You wrote your name!!!” I keep trying to put into words how proud and excited I felt in that moment. I just can’t. But since this blog is basically meant for putting thoughts into words, I will do my best. Suffice it to say, it feels extraordinary to watch a tiny human that you grew inside you for 9 months go from not being able to control his itty-bitty little flailing baby limbs, to being a young boy who can coordinate his brain and hand together to write his name. It just blows my mind watching it all happen.

I feel so blessed, honored, astounded, lucky, proud…all the happy adjectives…to be his Mom. Some days are beyond rough, I mean, lock myself in the bathroom while the kids scream in the living room and I cry my eyes out, rough. There are many times when I question if I’m doing enough, if I’m teaching him enough, loving him enough, am I enough? Then when moments like this happen, I realize that I am enough and it’s because of him. My kids help me to be the mom that I want to be. I still have a lot of work to do, but with their encouragement, I am going to keep trying.

I will end this post with a picture I took of M when he was almost 2 years old. I took him for a walk on my parents property on a rainy afternoon and just happened to capture him right underneath a rainbow. I’ve always treasured this picture because of the look of  determination and wonder in his face. That is his personality in a nutshell and I just adore it.

2

Alright, this concludes my mom humble brag. I’m sure there will be more to follow because let’s face it, my kids are awesome and how can I not talk about them?

Happy St. Patrick’s Day from this wee Irish lass, now I’m going to go eat a spoonful bunch  of rainbow sherbet ice cream to celebrate.

♥Brenna

 

 

3 thoughts on “Luck O’ the Irish..Mommy

  1. I am so proud of my grandson and all his new accomplishments. My granddaughter is also changing by leaps & bounds. I am always pleased and proud of my own lovely daughter and all she does.

    Like

  2. Go little man!!! This was a beautiful way to capture a huge milestone. He is a lucky boy to call you mom. Seriously great work. We love you buddy!!! So proud of my nephew!

    Like

  3. Very sweet Brenna, I’m so proud of my honorary nephew 😊 It’s truly amazing and awesome to watch how children grow, learn, and blossom!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

